Following months of severe tensions within United Torah Judaism, Deputy Education Minister Meir Porush will finally step down as an MK to allow Yaakov Asher, a former MK to once again take up his seat in the legislature.

The UTJ Knesset faction is comprised of Agudat Yisrael, representing the hassidic Ashkenazi haredi community, and Degel Hatorah representing the non-hassidic “Lithuanian” Ashkenazi community.

Agudah currently has four MKs while Degel has just two.